President McAleese announces 2008 ‘Pride of Place’ award winners

President Mary McAleese with husband Dr.Martin, Cllr; Tom Higgins, Waterford Co.Mayor and and Tom Dowling, Chairman Pride of Place. | Sean Byrne Photography

President Mary McAleese with husband Dr.Martin, Cllr; Tom Higgins, Waterford Co.Mayor and and Tom Dowling, Chairman Pride of Place. | Sean Byrne Photography

■□■ View Photos

President of Ireland, Mary McAleese, was guest of honour at the All-Island Pride of Place Gala Awards ceremony at Cappoquin Community Centre, Waterford on Saturday, November 6. Hosted by Waterford County Council the President announced the winners to an audience of approximately 500, which included representatives from all of the 113 nominated groups.

During the evening, the President paid tribute to all the participating groups who work tirelessly to create and promote pride in their cities, towns and villages.

The Pride of Place Competition recognises and celebrates the vital contributions that community partnerships make to society. The focus is on people coming together to shape, change and enjoy all that is good about their local area. It differs from other similar projects in that they specifically recognise the involvement of the local community in all aspects of rural and urban regeneration including, promoting social cohesion, involvement in planning, the promotion of heritage and environmental awareness.

This is the sixth year of the Pride of Place Competition, which is run by
Co-operation Ireland in partnership with the All-Island Local Authority Steering Forum, a forum which encourages strategic and sustainable approaches to cross-border co-operation by Local Authorities.

Local Authorities from practically every county in Ireland have nominated groups in their local area. Each of the nominees demonstrated what can be achieved when people work together to enhance and change parts of their area for the good of the whole community.

Tony Kennedy Chief Executive of Co-operation Ireland said:

“The unique all-island Pride of Place competition has a positive effect on communities throughout the island of Ireland. It highlights local authorities commitment to supporting groups who undertake initiatives to improve their communities. Although there can only be one winner in each category, tonight is a opportunity to recognise and celebrate the efforts of all groups.”

Prizes were awarded to the winner and two runners-up in six population and three themed categories. Awards in the separate cities competition and number of special awards were also announced.

The winners were:

Category 1.

  • Winner: Ardaghey Community Development, Co Monaghan
  • Runner up: Gowna Community Development Association, Co Cavan
  • Runner up: Glasthule Estate Forum, Co Dublin

Category 2.

  • Winner: Tuamgraney Development Association, Co Clare
  • Runner up: St. Mullins Community, Co Carlow
  • Runner up: Multyfarnham Park Development, Co Westmeath

Category 3.

  • Winner: Kilworth Village Renewal Committee, Co Cork
  • Runner up: Castlefin Partnership Initiative, Co Donegal
  • Runner up: Milltown Community Council, Co Galway

Category 4.

  • Winner: Cappamore Development Association, Co Limerick
  • Runner up: Crossmolina Community Council, Co Mayo
  • Runner up: Virginia Development Association, Co Cavan

Category 5.

  • Winner: Ballyhaunis District Community Council, Co Mayo
  • Runner up: Kinnegad Community Council, Co Westmeath
  • Runner up: Na Calaí CDP (Portumna), Co Galway

Category 6.

  • Winner: Portlaoise Parish Centre, Co Laois
  • Runner up: Mullingar Community Workshop, Co Westmeath

Category 7 Theme: Care of the Elderly
Category 7.

  • Winner: Carnew Community Care, Co Wicklow
  • Runner up: Dawn Court Day Care Centre, Athlacca, Co Limerick
  • Runner up: Mountmellick Voluntary Housing Association, Co Laois

Category 8 Theme: Community Facility
Category 8.

  • Winner: Temperance Hall Committee, Co Longford
  • Runner up: Bee Park Resource Centre, Manorhamilton, Co Leitrim
  • Runner up: Ionad Naomh Padraig, Bunbeg, Co Donegal

Category 9 Theme: Environment
Category 9.

  • Winner: Bonane Community Co-operative Society, Co Kerry
  • Runner up: Castlecomer Discovery Park, Co Kilkenny
  • Runner up: Loughbrickland & District Community Association, Banbridge, Co Down

Special Endeavour Award: Aisling Group International, Navan, Co Meath

Special Endeavour Award: Altnaveigh House, Newry, Co Down

Best Island Award: Valentia Island, Co Kerry


Category 1.

  • Winner: North Great George’s Street Preservation Society, Dublin
  • Runner up: Claddagh Residents Association, Galway City

Category 2.

  • Winner: Renmore Residents’ Association, Galway City
  • Runner up: Learmount Community Development Group (Park Village, Derry)

Category 3.

  • Winner: Lower Ormeau Residents’ Action Group, Belfast
  • Runner up: St. Brigid’s Family and Community Centre (Waterford Inner City)

Category 4.

  • Winner: Engage with Age, Belfast City
  • Runner up: Mahon Retired Residents, Cork City

Category 5.

  • Winner: St Andrew’s Resource Centre, Dublin City
  • Runner up: St. Munchin’s Community Enterprise Centre, Limerick City

Winning Local Authority: Mayo County Council

For full story see The Munster Express newspaper or
subscribe to our Electronic edition.

Comments are closed.