Archive for the ‘GAA Football’ Category

Deise Show Mettle While Laois Prevail

Deise senior manager Tom McGlinchey.
National Football League Division Four Laois 0-18 Waterford 1-11 The best 35 minutes produced under Tom McGlinchey’s watch on away turf saw Waterford trail Laois by a single point as the sides went in for some welcome respite from the Saturday night chill in Portlaoise. But a dominant second half display, which included a run of six successive [...]

Deise Promotion Hopes are Dented

Clashmore’s Aidan Trihy produced another dynamic performance at wing-back for the Deisemen.
National Football League Division Four Waterford 0-10 Antrim 2-12 It’s a misfortunate that the Division Four schedule threw up Antrim and Laois in successive weekends for Waterford. This mirrors last year’s campaign when successive weekends produced back to back outings against Westmeath and Wexford, when two defeats ended the Deise’s hopes of escaping the stickiest grade of senior inter-county [...]

Pluck of the Draw

Deise skipper Paul Whyte led by example in Aughrim last Sunday.
The fourth of four additional minutes at the rebranded Joule Park in a gusty Aughrim. Wicklow’s Gearóid Murphy stood over a free earned by the talismanic Seanie Furlong after an audacious piece of fielding by the homesters’ captain had drawn the set piece. Directly in front of goal, with time virtually up, those manning the official [...]

DLS College Taste U-15 Football Glory

De La Salle College captured the Under-15 (Gaelic Football) Eamonn Martin Cup in style against Ennistymon of Clare in Lattin, County Tipperary on a scoreline of 1-9 to 0-5. De La Salle led from the off and were very unlucky when an early James Aylward goal was controversially disallowed as it was deemed to be a [...]

Another stellar season for Thomas O’Gorman

Thomas O’Gorman’s leadership in a transitionary season for The Nire marked him out yet again in 2017 and has earned himself another Waterford Footballer of the Year nomination.  									| Photo: Sean Byrne
Every team needs leaders. When the chips are down, leaders – real leaders – can be the difference between winning and losing a game. Twelve months ago after his side won the County Final, easily beating Ballinacourty in the decider and then going on to the Munster Club Final against Dr Crokes, The Nire’s Thomas O’Gorman [...]

Stradbally Regain Title Following Fraher Epic

A Championship that took 212 days to complete could not have produced a more magnificent finish. And if there’s ever been a better County Senior Football Final than the instant classic Stradbally and The Nire produced at Fraher Field last Sunday, good luck identifying it. The last Senior GAA Final of 2017, the eighth occasion these great [...]

The Late Late Show

There’s a familiar look to this year’s County Senior Football Final which is finally set to go ahead this Sunday at Fraher Field. The holders from The Nire, having gone the long way round to reach the decider, will do battle with Stradbally for the Conway Cup for the eighth time this century alone – [...]

Champions march on

The Nire's Michael O'Gorman gets in his kick ahead of Ballinacourty's James O'Mahony
Thomas Keane Reports County champions The Nire advanced to what is in all purposes a County Senior Football Quarter Final and a meeting with Clashmore this (Tuesday) evening when they beat great rivals Ballinacourty at a freezing cold Fraher Field on Thursday last. The champions played without Jamie Barron in this game and look set to finish [...]

Nire maintain their SFC push

Shane Walsh landed four points from play for The Nire in their SFC win over Rathgormack at Fraher Field.										| Photo: Sean Byrne
Champions The Nire marched on to the next round of this year’s Senior Football Championship on Sunday last when they easily accounted for Rathgormack at Fraher Field. Benji Whelan’s side lost double All-Star hurler Jamie Barron with an injury after five minutes and management will be hoping that Barron will return to action sooner rather than [...]

Ballyduff Lower Go Back to Back

Ballyduff Lower: Eastern Junior Football champions 2017.	| Photos: Maurice Hennebry
Ballyduff Lower are back to back Eastern Junior Football champions following a five-point victory over Erins Own at Dunhill on Saturday last. . Ballyduff proved the better side throughout but had to withstand a stern examination from Erins Own before a late Jack Lyons goal finally extinguished the challenge from the Poleberry based side. Calum Lyons had [...]