Archive for the ‘GAA Hurling’ Category

Limerick Seize the Day!

John Kiely guided Limerick to a magnificent win at Croke park last Sunday
So we have new hurling champions with Limerick very much seizing their opportunity and getting it done under immense pressure. When I saw that there was going to be eight minutes of injury time I couldn’t help thinking of the 1994 All-Ireland when Limerick were in a similar winning position, leading by five points with five [...]

Stroll in the Park for Dominant Clonea

Clonea's Michael Curry is tackled by St Saviours’ Keelan Cassidy during their Intermediate Hurling Championship match played in Walsh Park on Saturday last. 		| Photos: Maurice Hennebry
Eastern Intermediate Hurling Championship Clonea 4-22 St Saviours 1-08 Brian Flannery Reports Clonea handed St Saviours a 23 point drubbing in the final round of the Group stages of this year’s Eastern Intermediate hurling championship. Played on a well-manicured Walsh Park surface on Saturday afternoon last the reigning champions was much too good for a disappointing St Saviours side. While the Ballybeg [...]

Sion Pushed All the Way

Martin F O'Neill and Donie Breathnach in an aerial tussle on Sunday last.
Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Final Play-Off Mount Sion 0-21 An Rinn 2-13 Mount Sion advanced to the Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Finals, but only after they were pushed hard by An Rinn in the opening game played at Fraher Field on Sunday afternoon. Last year’s Intermediate Champions were given little hope by most, but they produced a full-blooded display that [...]

Ol Boro Edge Thriller After Extra Time

Jack Prendergast and his Lismore team mates contributed to a full-blooded SHC Play-Off.
Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Final Play-Off Dungarvan 2-23 Lismore 2-20 (AET) Brian Flannery Reports Two goals in the second half of extra time were crucial in finally securing Dungarvan a place in the Quarter Finals of the Senior Hurling Championship at Fraher Field on Sunday last. Dungarvan went into this game missing a number of regulars with Kevin Daly [...]

A Magical Summer of Hurling

Clare's David McInerney pictured with Waterford’s Stephen Bennett at Cusack Park. The Banner have responded superbly to their provincial final defeat.
Brian Flannery Reports Those who questioned the wisdom of the revised All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship format may well require a rethink in the wake of a sensational summer of action, and a semi-final weekend we’ll never forget. Because make no mistake, this has been arguably the most exciting Championship ever (or at least in my [...]

Fenor Denied by Late Cunningham Free

Great fielding by De La Salle’s Kevin Hennessy over the head of Fenor’s Fergal Whelan.
Fenor 0-14 De La Salle 0-14 Brian Flannery Reports Fenor and De La Salle played out an exciting draw in round four of the East Waterford Intermediate hurling championship on Saturday night last at Walsh Park. An injury time point from Brian Cunningham earned the Gracedieu based side a draw and a share of the points. For all bar five [...]

Carton on fire as Deise Girls Keep Championship Alive

Waterford’s Kaiesha Tobin scoring her goal in the first half.
All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship Waterford       2-11 Limerick          0-15 Waterford held onto record a vital two point victory over Limerick in round three of the All-Ireland senior camogie championship.Having lost their opening two games to Galway and Kilkenny this was a must win encounter for Waterford and the Déise girls didn’t disappoint.Not for the first time De La [...]

Grounds For Discussion…

After all the printed and broadcasted words regarding a ground a great many us have enormous affection for, the planning application for the redevelopment of Walsh Park has been lodged by the Waterford County Board. In the site notice which was erected on June 28th, the Board proposes the following works: * The demolition of all on-site [...]

Clonea Powered to Victory with Late Goal

Easrtern Intermediate Hurling Championship Clonea 3-14 Ferrybank 2-15 Brian Flannery Reports An injury time goal from former county minor Billy Power snatched a late victory for Clonea to maintain their unbeaten run the East Waterford Intermediate hurling championship.Played on an arid like pitch at Walsh Park on Saturday last it was Ferrybank who looked the likely winners when they hit [...]

Sion Pipped for Qualification Despite Victory

Mount Sion's Martin F O'Neill goes high against Lismore's Shane Heaphy.
Senior Hurling Championship Group 3 Mount Sion 4-17 Lismore 2-15 Brian Flannery at Fraher Field Mount Sion had eight points to spare over Lismore in the final round of the senior hurling group phase at Fraher Field on Sunday evening last. Despite this victory and a record of two wins from three games the honours laden city side missed [...]