Comeragh CC to compete in Junior Tour for first time since 1994.

No year has borne more significance and success for Irish cycling than 1987. Stephen Roche reached the pinnacle of his career, joining the great Eddy Merckx as the only other cyclist to win the ‘triple crown’ of overall victories in the Giro d’Italia and the Tour de France stage races plus victory in the World championships. Roche’s rise to prominence in the sport coincided with that of Sean Kelly, who is still revered to this day as a hard man of professional cycling. Kelly from Curraghduff, Co. Waterford was ranked world number one for six years from 1984 and is arguably the most accomplished sporting hero Ireland has ever produced. The Roche-Kelly era witnessed no shortage of two wheeled recruits and Waterford City and County boasted no fewer than six successful cycling clubs at this time.
It is against this backdrop that Comeragh Cycling Club enjoyed its formative first year. Comeragh CC was formed initially as a cycling club that would deliver equal attention to all of its members whether they be touring and leisure, or racing cyclists and it is this ethos which has ensured its survival thirty years later.
It has been over two decades since we have seen a Comeragh CC team in the Junior Tour of Ireland, 1994 was the last time, so we are very proud that we have not only one but two teams entered in this year’s event.
The junior tour of Ireland is a six day cycle race for juniors aged 16 and 17 years. It starts on July 11th and ends on July 16th.
The tour is based around Ennis County Clare and takes in famous Cliffs of Moher, Ballyvaughan, Doolin, Lahinch, Spanish point and the famous Gallows hill and the Wild Atlantic Way.
Day 1 is a 6.2km time trial followed by five days of racing in total 493km in the saddle. The riders are twins Jason and Rhys Kenny, Aaron Dillon whose dad is managing one of the teams, Tomas Walsh, Ronan Charters, Conor Coleman, Ciaran O’Sullivan, Evan Cullen and two guest riders Fergal Murphy from Killarney CC and Jair Kelly from Aruba. Support crew are Colm Dillon(Manager), Ciaran Power(Manager), Cian Power(Mechanic), John Hammond(Masseuse) and Sinead Power(Logistics and driver). From all at Comeragh CC we would like to wish both riders and support crew the very best of luck for the week, we know your will do us proud.

For full story see The Munster Express newspaper or
subscribe to our Electronic edition.

Leave a Comment