De La Salle crowned Munster Champions

The De La Salle team and mentors celebrated their victory over CBS Sexton St, Limerick in the Munster school’s senior final.

The De La Salle team and mentors celebrated their victory over CBS Sexton St, Limerick in the Munster school’s senior final.

De La Salle repeated their victory over CBS Sexton Street, Limerick of last year (Under 17) when they won the Munster Under 19 School’s Cup in Roscrea on Wednesday last.

First half goals from Aaron O’Connor, Daniel Pender and a James Brown penalty gave them yet another glorious day in the honour laden sports history of the school.

Sexton Street took an early through Evan Shine lead but a magnificent shot from 25 yards by Arron O’Connor levelled matters on 11 minutes.

Daniel Pender then found the net from 30 yards on 20 minutes to put the Waterford team in front.

Just before halftime Josh Amuhi was taken down inside the 18 yards box and James Brown made no mistake from the resultant penalty.

The Shannonsiders did pull a goal back  on 62 minutes through Shane Walsh  from the penalty spot and  then threw everything except the kitchen sink at the DLS defence but they just could not break down the resolute and sublime De La Dalle defenders.

The team are managed and coached by Pete Munroe and Robbie Power and Munroe was naturally thrilled with the outcome in North Tipperary.

“We have been working for this all year. This was our goal from the first meeting we had at the start of the campaign. We knew we had the talent. The lads won the Under 17 Munster Cup last year and I don’t think the college ever put the Under 17 and Under 19 titles back to back before so needless to say we are very happy right now.

“The Limerick team got off to a great start but we fought back brilliantly. We got some great goals and if you saw them on Match of the Day you would be applauding them and putting them down for Goal of the Month.  We led 3-1 at the interval and we knew that they were going to come back at us and they did. You just have to take your hat off to our back four. They stood up to incredible pressure and cleared everything that was thrown at them. We fully deserved to win and yes indeed it’s another wonderful day for the college” said Pete.

De La Salle will now play the reigning champions Summerhill College from Sligo in the All-Ireland semi-final in Athlone on Thursday.

De La Salle: Stephen Doheny, Dylan Walsh, Maurice Shanahan, Ross Fitzpatrick, Roy Battye, Aaron O’Connor, Daniel Pender, Andy Phelan (Jeff Da Silva (`82)  James Brown, Josh Amuhi (Like  Power “75) Jack Maher.

Rest of squad. Dylan McGiure, Roy Butler, Adam Flynn, Luke O’Connor, Ilie Corcoran.

Matt Keane

For full story see The Munster Express newspaper or
subscribe to our Electronic edition.

Comments are closed.