Dunmore Badminton Club

Doubles League
Dunmore Badminton Club has had a very successful season so far with three of its four teams winning their respective doubles leagues.

In Section 2 of the Men’s league, Dunmore 1 completed their campaign with a one hundred per cent record by beating Touraneena 2-1. The league-winning team consisted of Jackie Dunne (captain), Barry Cantwell, Bobby iype and Peter Fleming.

Dunmore 2 men made it a double for the club by winning Section 3. Although losing their final match 2-1 to Lismore, the big lead built up in their earlier matches was sufficient to see them victorious. Well done to team members David O’Leary (captain), Mick Kennedy and Max Larouge.

Dunmore 3 men completed a hat-trick of league titles for the club. This team defeated Tourin 2-1 in the league final played in Touraneena. The D3 team consisted of Ciaran Harrington (captain), David Abbott and John Wesley, with Premji subbing on one occasion. Congratulations to all.

Dunmore 1 ladies, captained by Bernie Maher, were less successful. However they performed creditably finishing mid-table in a strong section.

For full story see The Munster Express newspaper or
subscribe to our Electronic edition.

Leave a Comment