Courty Signal the Intent

Rathgormack's Billy Power getting some close attention from Ballinacourty goalscorer Gary Hurney

Rathgormack's Billy Power getting some close attention from Ballinacourty goalscorer Gary Hurney

Waterford Senior Football Championship Group One

Ballinacourty 4-12
Rathgormack 0-15

Ballinacourty signaled their SFC ambitions with a ruthless 15-point dismissal of Rathgormack at Fraher Field on Sunday last.

Throughout the field, Ballinacourty were on top, and had it been but for the accuracy of Jason Curry’s free-taking, Rathgormack’s margin of defeat would have been much greater.

Early in the game it looked like we were in for a close encounter as Mark Ferncombe and Jason Curry swapped early scores, but once Shane O’Donovan hit the first of his three goals in this game in the ninth minute, there was only one team ever going to win.

At the end of the first quarter it was O’Donovan’s goal that separated the sides as Ballinacourty lead 1-2 to 0-2, but by the break they had stretched their lead to four after Gary Hurney hit his side’s second goal six minutes from the break after he was set up by younger brother Patrick.

Mark Ferncombe in the second quarter kicked three points for Ballinacourty who lead 2-5 to 0-7 at the break while Jason Curry would hit all but one of his sides scores in the opening half.

Gary Hurney opened the second half scoring with a point but he could just as easily have hit a goal and Michael O’Halloran extended the lead before a sweeping up field move was finished to the net from close range by Shane O’Donovan four minutes after the restart.

Michael O’Halloran, Jason Curry and Patrick Hurney traded scores to give Ballinacourty a 3-9 to 0-8 lead after 39 minutes.

Three minutes later Shane O’Donovan completed his hat-trick when a effort for a point was pulled down by Padraig Hunt in the Rathgormack goal but O’Donovan was following up and when the ball fell to him he punched the ball to the net.

What life was in this game fizzled out after this. Gavin Nugent, Shane O’Donovan and Gary Hurney all hit points in the final quarter which gave Ballinacourty the most comfortable of wins, who on this performance will be the team to watch in 2015.

Ballinacourty: Stephen Enright; David Collins, Shane Briggs, Eoin Bergin; Conor Moloney, Sean O’Hare, Brian Looby; Conor Prunty, John Hurney; Patrick Hurney, Mark Ferncombe, Michael O’Halloran; Shane O’Donovan, Gary Hurney, Mark Fives.

Scorers: Shane O’Donovan 3-1, Gary Hurney (1-3; 0-1f), Mark Ferncombe (0-4; 0-1f), Michael O’Halloran (0-3) and Patrick Hurney (0-1).

Rathgormack: Padraig Hunt; Michael Crotty, Conor Walsh, Ciaran Fogarty; Dean Kirwan, Cathal Crowch, Billy Power; Liam Mulligan, Jason Curry, William Hahessy; Paul Drohan, Gavin Nugent, Conor Murray.

Subs: Robbie Flynn for Billy Power, Jamie Kirwan for Dean Kirwan (both 45 mins), Sean Lacey for Gavin Nugent (47) and Jason Gleeson for Liam Mulligan (56).

Scorers: Jason Curry (0-7; 0-5f), Michael Crotty and Gavin Nugent (0-1 each).

Referee: Alan Kissane (Dunhill).

Thomas Keane

For full story see The Munster Express newspaper or
subscribe to our Electronic edition.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.