Six on the Spin

Elaine Power, named as player of the match following Waterford’s Munster Final win over Limerick at Rathmore.

Elaine Power, named as player of the match following Waterford’s Munster Final win over Limerick at Rathmore.

Waterford – 2-20
Limerick – 1-11

Waterford’s intermediate Ladies Football team won a sixth successive Munster Final on Saturday afternoon last when they accounted for Limerick at Rathmore.

When the two sides clashed three weeks earlier, Waterford emerged as victors with seven points to spare, but the scoreboard that evening gave a somewhat false indication as to the story of the game.

Goals that night from Hannah Landers and Linda Wall, one at either end of the game proved decisive, but so too did some crucial interventions from goal keeper Aimee Jordan and centre back Karen McGrath.

On Saturday afternoon last there could be no disputing the gulf between the sides and the final score if anything undermined the performance of Waterford who had this game won from an early stage.

Waterford had a great start to this game when Michelle Ryan with a brace and Hannah Landers gave Waterford a three point lead with just four minutes on the clock.

Limerick, to their credit, came back at Waterford and a long ball through the Waterford defence caught the team unaware and Megan Kelleher was on hand to beat Aimee Jordan for the games opening goal.

Waterford, however, were soon to take the lead once more and once Mairead Wall scored on six minutes Waterford never trailed.

Liz Devine, Elaine Power – who put in a magnificent performance, Aileen Wall and Michelle Ryan with her third score of the game, a delightful score from forty metres had Waterford leading 0-8 to 1-0 with just over ten minutes played.

Waterford refused to throw ease up the pressure on the Limerick goal and points from Hannah Landers, Michelle Ryan, Linda Wall, Michelle Ryan again and Liz Devine followed which further stretched the reigning champions lead.

Two more points from Michelle Ryan followed before the break to bring Waterford’s tally for the first half to fifteen.

Limerick, in the closing minutes of the half, did somewhat better as Marie Curtin struck a brace of points, Niamh Richardson and Dymphna O’Brien landed scores for the Treaty-side ladies which saw them turn around trailing 0-15 to 1-4.

Marie Curtain opened the second half scoring for Limerick, but the former professional soccer player soon had her effort cancelled out after a brace of points from Elaine Power.

Waterford struck their first goal of the game on 38 minutes when Hannah Landers finished to the net after some excellent work by Róisín Tobin.

The rest of the half was bossed by Waterford who began to somewhat ease up as Michelle Ryan landed a brace of points and Linda Wall kicked one while Elaine Power rounded off a brilliant performance ten minutes from time when she hammered the ball to the Limerick net giving Kristina Hennessy no chance.

Limerick to their credit refused to throw in the towel and were rewarded with four further points from their most industrious forward Marie Curtin, bringing her tally to seven in the second half with Claire O’Riordan and Stephanie Carroll also getting their names on the score sheet.

Waterford are now through to the quarter-finals of this years championship along with Leitrim, Down and either Longford or Offaly, while Limerick will have to play in the All- Ireland qualifiers which they enter at the second round along with the other provincial finalists against one of the sides that will come through from the fi rst round games which features sides that failed to get to a provincial final.

WATERFORD: Aimee Jordan; Nora Dunphy, Gráinne Enright, Mary Foley; Louise Ryan, Karen McGrath, Róisín Tobin; Michelle McGrath, Elaine Power; Linda Wall, Mairead Wall, Aileen Wall; Hannah Landers, Michelle Ryan, Liz Devine.

SUBS: Shauna Dunphy for Hannah Landers, Margaret Revins for Aileen Wall, Grainne Kenneally for Róisín Tobin, Megan O’Connor for Michelle McGrath, Caoimhe McGrath for Liz Devine.

SCORERS: Michelle Ryan (0-9, 1f); Elaine Power (1-3); Hannah Landers (1-2); Linda Wall, Liz Devine (0-2 each); Mairead Wall, Aileen Wall (0-1 each).

LIMERICK: Kristina Hennessy; Alva Neary, Janet Garvey, Siobhan Moloney; Vicky McMahon, Leanne Garvey, Aoife Meaney; Kathryn Fahy, Niamh Richardson; Michelle Norris, Megan Kelleher, Megan O’Shea; Dymphna O’Brien, Marie Curtin, Claire O’Riordan.

SUBS: Cloda Kirby for Siobhan Moloney, Stephanie Carroll for Leanne Garvey.

SCORERS: Marie Curtin (0-7 4f’s); Megan Kelleher (1-0); Dymphna O’Brien, Niamh Richardson, Claire O’Riordan, Stephanie Carroll (0-1 each).

REFEREE: Seamus Mulvhill (Kerry).

For full story see The Munster Express newspaper or
subscribe to our Electronic edition.

Comments are closed.