Brick Walsh inspires as Stradbally shock Tallow

Stradbally 3-12 Tallow 1-12

Stradbally completely up set calculations when proving too good for a widely fancied Tallow outfit at Cappoquin.

However ,Tallow thanks to an excellent Thomas Ryan point in the 25th minute went 0-7 to 0-6 ahead, before the real drama in this all Western showdown erupted.

Into the reckoning came one of the youngest players on the field Shane Ahearne, who advanced his claim for a ‘man of the match’ rating with a super goal and a quick point to give Stradbally a deserved two-point half-time advantage, and laid the foundation for the team’s subsequent victory.

If the first half was entertaining, what followed after the recess was even better. Within a minute of the restart, teenager Shane Ahearne – who somehow failed to make the Waterford minor team this year landed his second goal.

To Tallow’s credit they rallied well and when Paul O’Brien crashed a 35th minute penalty to the Stradbally net the deficit was down to a goal.

Undaunted , Stradbally’s immediate answer was both telling and effective— and while there might have been a fortuitous touch to their third goal by George Walsh in the 37th minute, it did restore the ‘reds’ earlier two goal advantage.

Valiantly Tallow tried everything they knew to rectify the situation and when Paul O’Brien pointed a ‘65′ direct and Thomas Ryan raised two more white flags from placed positions a goal separated the teams -3-9 to 1-12, with less than five minutes on the clock.

But that was the closest the Bridesiders came towards justifying their pre-match favouritism. Stradbally, superbly led by Waterford team captain Michael Walsh put in a strong finish, and a brace of stylish points from the ‘Brick’ and another from Niall Curran, signed, sealed and ensured a thoroughly merited win.

Stradbally: Trevor Curran, Tomas Walsh, Oliver Costelloe, Kevin Coffey, Paddy Doyle, John Coffey, Andy Doyle, John Hearne, Shane Lannon, Stephen Cunningham, Michael Walsh, Tony Grey, Niall Curran, Shane Ahearne, George Walsh.

Subs: Trevor Costelloe for T Grey, Robert Ahearne for S Lannon.

Scorers: Shane Ahearne (2-5), George Walsh (1-0), Michael Walsh (0-3), Niall Curran, Stephen Cunningham, John Hearne and Trevor Costelloe (0-1 each).

Tallow: Barry Power, Mark O’Brien, Shane McCarthy, Kenneth Kearney, James Murray, David O’Brien, Kieran Geary, Paul Murray, Aidan Kearney, William Henley, Paul O’Brien, Billy Sheehan, Thomas Ryan, Shane F McCarthy, John Paul Grey.

Subs: Luke McCarthy for JP Grey, Brian Henley for B Sheehan.

Scorers: Thomas Ryan (0-7), Paul O’Brien (1-3), William Henley and Shane F McCarthy (0-1 each).

Referee: Maurice Condon (Clashmore).

For full story see The Munster Express newspaper or
subscribe to our Electronic edition.

Leave a Comment