Deise girls go back to back!

Catch me if you can: the Deise’s Niamh Murphy being pursued by the Dublin half-back line!

Catch me if you can: the Deise’s Niamh Murphy being pursued by the Dublin half-back line!

Waterford recorded back to back All-Ireland Under-16 ‘B’ camogie titles after a hard earned four-point victory over Dublin at a sun-drenched McDonagh Park on Sunday last.
The eventual winners got off to an ideal start as player of the match Kaiesha Tobin goaled from a penalty after only five minutes when Aisling Madigan was upended en route to the ‘red zone’. Dublin responded quickly with a pointed free from their centre-back Rebecca Lewis. Niamh Murphy then hit two points in succession to leave Declan Drohan’s Waterford side leading 1-2 to 0-1 at the end of the first quarter.
Considerable pressure from the Leinster side eventually saw Sinéad Wylde release Sarah Murphy to goal from close range in the 23rd minute.
The rampaging Anne Corcoran responded immediately for Port Láirge with a fine point on the run.
However, a point apiece from Aisling Andrews and Saoirse English had the Dubs back on level terms on 1-3 apiece as the teams headed for the dressing rooms.
The critical third quarter saw Waterford edge a point ahead with points from Kaiesha Tobin (2) and Aisling Madigan while Aoibhe Dillon and Chloe Mullen recorded minors for the team from the capital (1-6 to 1-5).
But the game changed decisively in favour of the reigning champions after 47 minutes when Aisling Madigan put her club mate Niamh Murphy clear to rattle the net with a ground stoke from six yards to send Waterford four clear.
And things got even better when substitute Aisling Baumann with an opportunist point pushed the lead out to five with just 10 minutes to play.
While Dublin substitute Beth Whyte cut their deficit to four points with a free in the 52nd minute, Dungarvan’s Keisha Tobin was hand with a fantastic pointed free from 65m to restore their five-point cushion.
Despite being under considerable pressure, the Déise defence held up well conceding just a single further point to the challengers and ensure another All-Ireland title in what is becoming a marquee year for Waterford camogie.
This was a superb team performance from the winners with Sinead Cunningham, Clara Griffin, Shauna Fitzgerald and Colette Hogan particularly outstanding in defence.
The Gailltír pair of Kate Lynch and Anne Corcoran held sway at centre-field while in attack De La Salle’s Niamh Murphy and Aisling Madigan were a constant threat beside player of the match Kaiesha Tobin.

Waterford: Ciara Jackman; Sinead Cunningham, Taylor Healy, Clodagh Curran; Clara Griffin, Shauna Fitzgerald, Colette Hogan; Kate Lynch, Anne Corcoran; Chloe Dempsey, Aisling Madigan, Faye Curley; Saoirse English, Kaiesha Tobin, Niamh Murphy.
Substitutes: Aisling Baumann for Chloe Dempsey (41 mins) and Grainne Heffernan for Saoirse English (57).

Scorers: Kaiesha Tobin (1-3; 1-0 pen, 0-3f), Niamh Murphy (1-2; 0-1f), Anne Corcoran, Aisling Madigan and Aisling Baumann (0-1 each)

Dublin: Megan Thomas; Aoife Farrell, Niamh Mulroney, Emily Browne; Laura Morgan, Rebecca Lewis, Nicole Malcolmson; Zoe Couch, Caoimhe Hughes; Sinéad Wylde, Aisling Andrews, Emma O’Byrne; Sarah Murphy, Aoibhe Dillon, Chloe Mullen

Substitutes: Beth Whyte for Caoimhe Hughes (44 mins), Saoirse Mullen for Sinéad Wylde (50) and Siobhra Andrews for Emma O’Byrne (55mins).

Scorers: Sarah Murphy (1-0), Rebecca Lewis and Beth Whyte (0-1f each), Aisling Andrews, Saoirse English, Aoibhe Dillon, Chloe Mullen and Saoirse Mullen (0-1 each).

Referee: Justin Heffernan (Wexford).

For full story see The Munster Express newspaper or
subscribe to our Electronic edition.

Leave a Comment