Kilrossanty storm to Junior ‘B’ crown

Kilrossanty and Tommy Prendergast ended 2016 with some welcome silverware.

Kilrossanty and Tommy Prendergast ended 2016 with some welcome silverware.

County Junior ‘B’ Hurling Final Replay

Kilrossanty 1-20
Mount Sion 0-07

Rarely has a replayed final been so different from the drawn game with Kilrossanty completely outplaying Mount Sion here to capture the county junior hurling B title at Fraher Field on Friday night last under lights.

The margin of 16 points gives an accurate indication of the gulf in performance and the dominance of the victors. Kirossanty began the game with Paul Keating manning the pivotal centre-back position with James Whyte moving into full-back to police Mount Sion danger-man Darren Finn. However it was at centre-field that Kilrossanty controlled most with both Paul Whyte and Osgar de Paor completely on top and dictating the flow of the game.

Kirossanty’s superior work-rate, pace and all-round talent laid the foundations for victory from quite early on.

The western champions had six different scorers in the first half and led 0-6 to 0-2 half way through the opening 30 minutes. Michael Frisby and Darren Finn was the only Mount Sion players to trouble the umpires in the first half as this Mount Sion side struggled to hold onto the coattails of their opponents. Only wasteful shooting from Kilrossanty who hit nine wides in the opening period prevented then men from Leamybrien having an even greater lead than 0-9 to 0-4 as the teams retired to the dressing rooms.

An errant puck-out from team captain Joey Veale allowed Stephen Coady register the opening score of the second half with a point for Mount Sion however this was the Monastery men’s only third quarter score. Kilrossanty buoyed by their dominance of possession hit four points in succession from Paul Whyte, Dale Power, Pa Cunningham and Osgar de Paor to lead 0-13 to 0-5 after 45 minutes.

The green and gold clad boys turned on the style from there to the end with an exhibition of precision passing and champagne hurling piling on the scores in an impressive performance. The goal Kilrossanty’s performance deserved finally arrived after 59 minutes when a long ball from Paul Keating found Donal Fitzgerald who placed Pa Cunningham to shoot to the net unopposed from close range.

Paul Keating, Stephen Prendergast, Osgar de Paor, Paul Whyte, Donal Fitzgerald, Pa Whyte, Pa Cunningham and Alan Quinn were all outstanding for the winners. Only full-back Paul Kehoe reached the level of performance of the previous week for Mount Sion.

Kilrossanty: Joey Veale; James Maher, James Whyte, Mark Prendergast; Killian Whelan, Paul Keating, Stephen Prendergast; Osgar de Paor; Paul Whyte; Alan Quinn, Pa Whyte, Donal Fitzgerald; Dale Power, Tommy Prendergast, Pa Cunningham.

Substitutes: Michael Walsh for Dale Power (46 mins), Kenny Houlihan for Tommy Prendergast (56), Michael Hassett for Mark Prendergast (60) and Mark Hayes for Donal Fitzgerald (61).

Scorers: Pa Cunningham (1-4; 0-2f), Osgar de Paor (0-4), Paul Whyte (0-4), Pa Whyte, Alan Quinn and Donal Fitzgerald (0-2 each), Dale Power and Stephen Prendergast (0-1 each).

Mount Sion: Owen Sauvage; Shane Flynn, Paul Kehoe, Shane Elliot; Shane Twomey, Paul Browne, Pat McGrath; Aaron Dempsey, Brian Hammond; Patrick McGrath, Stephen Coady, Michael Frisby; Eric Hoban, Darren Finn, Ricky Freeman.

Substitutes: Eoin Daniels for Brian Hammond (HT) and Steven Wilmott for Ricky Freeman (45mins),

Scorers: Michael Frisby (0-5; 0-2’65, 0-1f), Darren Finn and Stephen Coady (0-1 each).

Referee: Edmund Fitzgerald (Passage).

For full story see The Munster Express newspaper or
subscribe to our Electronic edition.

Leave a Comment