Limerick 3; Waterford United  0

Both Limerick and Waterford trooped off the pitch in Jackman Park on Saturday night last in a downbeat mood because both clubs are destined to remain in the First Division once again next season.
Limerick had to win, and then hope that Monaghan United would lose in Athlone to be in with a chance of finishing in third position, but the Ulster based team won five nil. Limerick finished in fourth position while the Blues have filled fifth position.
Cork City won the championship by defeating Shelbourne 2-1 in Tolka Park, thanks to a stoppage time goal from former Waterford United striker Graham Cummins.