Candidates across Waterford are making the final push for votes as General Election day looms.Voters will go to the polls to elect four TDs to represent Waterford this Saturday February 8th.
Eleven candidates are vying for Waterford’s four seats: Deputy Mary Butler and Cllr Eddie Mulligan (Fianna Fáil); Cllr Damien Geoghegan and Cllr John Cummins (Fine Gael); Deputy David Cullinane (Sinn Féin); Cllr John Pratt (Labour); Dr Ronan Cleary (Aontú); Independents Cllr Matt Shanahan and Bernadette Phillips; Una Dunphy (People Before Profit); and Cllr Marc Ó Cathsaigh (Green Party).
While national issues such as pensions, taxation and crime have featured prominently on local doorsteps, issues relating to University Hospital Waterford (UHW) have proven to be the dominating cause of concern for local voters.
Check out our comprehensive election coverage inside, including John O’Connor’s constituency predictions.