Niamh Whelan, Ferrybank AC, got her 2009 season off to a great start on Saturday last in Nenagh when she had a fine double in the 60m and 200m at the National Junior Indoor Championships.

Her winning times were 7.64 for the 60m and 25.09 for the 200m. For Ferrybank AC, silver medals were won by Andrew Heffernan, high jump, Nicola Power, long jump and bronze medals were collected by Thomas Barr, high jump and Gráinne Brennan, 1000m.

McCarthy in form

Last Saturday in Boston, Providence College student David McCarthy, West Waterford AC, had a fine run in a 3000m invitation race and finished in third place in a personal best time of 8 minutes 2.42 seconds, two seconds behind the winners.

In Nenagh at the AAI Games on Sunday James Ledingham won a grade 1 1000m race. Gavin Downey was second and Kevin Cooper third.

Mount Sion Race

Over 160 runners and over 50 walkers competed in the Annual Mount Sion Darts Club 5 miles road race in the city on Saturday last in aid of the Alzheimer Society. Niall McCormack, Ferrybank AC, ran out the comfortable winner; leading from the start he was timed at 26 minutes 45 seconds. In second place was Sean Stilwell, WWAC, in 27.26 and Anthony Grace, Carrick-on-Suir, was third in 28.12.

Pauline Lambe Tullamore won the ladies section in 31.26, Sylvia Malone, Waterford AC, was second in 32.22 and Diane Behan, WWAC, was third in 33.43.

First man over-40 was Denis McCarthy, East Cork; over-50, Larry Lacey, St Josephs; Junior, Niall O’Sullivan; first lady over-35, Jacqui McKee Tramore; over-40, Ann Fitzgerald, Waterford AC; junior, Siobhan Heylin, Waterford AC. The first Mount Sion finisher was Wayne Ryan. The organisers wish to thank the Gardaí, Civil Defence, all the stewards, ladies catering committee and members of Waterford AC. It was yet another fine effort by Atty Jackman and all his committee in the Mount Sion Darts Club.

Colligan Cup

Ger Wyley won the Annual Colligan Cup run in Colligan Wood last Sunday and Brigid Coffey took the Colligan Shield. The juvenile winner was Bobby Landers. This event is decided on a predicted time by an athlete to cover the distance and the nearest to this time but not exceeding it is the winning time; with no watches allowed to runners.

Munster Awards

On Saturday next the Munster Awards Banquet will be held in Hotel Blarney County Cork. The following Waterford athletes will receive awards:

International women – Kelly Proper; Junior – Niamh Whelan; Juvenile – Ben and Megan Kiely (all Ferrybank); Walking – Kate Veale, WWAC; Overall Club awards – juvenile and senior, Ferrybank – track and field; Junior Men – WWAC; Junior women – Ferrybank; Road running club award, senior women, over-35 – women WWAC; Cross country – juvenile, Shane Quinn; intermediate – Frank Halley (both Ferrybank AC).


January 29th Thursday – Waterford Secondary Schools Cross-Country Championships in St Augustines College, Abbeyside, with an 11.30am start.

Also on Thursday the Paddy Byrne Winter League is on at the RSC at 7pm, registration from 6.15pm.

Next Sunday with a 1pm start the Quantum Life Dungarvan 10-mile road race will have a huge entry. Race headquarters at Sports Centre, Quann’s Road, Dungarvan. Pre-entry now closed entries on day up to 12.15pm at €20 per person.

Further ahead

February 7-8: All Ireland Senior Indoor Championships – Odyssey Arena Belfast

February 7: Munster U-13 to 17 Indoors Nenagh

February 8: Munster Masters and Day 2 U-13 to 17 Nenagh.

Birmingham Indoor Meeting

This weekend on Saturday and Sunday there’s an international indoor meeting in Birmingham and four athletes from Ferrybank AC will compete.

Kelly Proper goes in the 60m and long jump on Saturday and the 200m on Sunday. Niamh Whelan runs in the 60m on Saturday and the 200m on Sunday. Kevin Cooper is in the 1500m on Saturday and Billy Ryan takes part in the 200m on Sunday.

Ann Valley 5 Miles

On Valentine’s Day, Saturday, February 14, the Annual Ann Valley 5-Miles Road Race is staged in Dunhill, entries on the day in Harney’s Dunhill from 10am. Proceeds to South-east Cancer Foundation Solas centre Fund.