Waterford IT 2-14   Limerick IT 1-7

Reigning champions Waterford Institute of Technology beat last year’s finalists, Davy Fitzgerald’s LIT, by double-scores last Wednesday in a surprisingly one-sided Fitzgibbon Cup quarter-final on Shannonside.
Fintan O’Leary, one of the 2008 striking Cork panel, was WIT’s star man, scoring four points from play. The holders, managed by new Wexford boss Colm Bonnar, proved much too strong for a Limerick side that included Galway and Portumna ace Joe Canning and Tipperary’s Seamus Callinan in their full-forward line.
Still, were it not for two brilliant saves from Ballyduff Upper’s county understudy Adrian Power, both from Callinan efforts, a different hue could have been put on proceedings.
Having helped destroy Ballyhale Shamrocks last Sunday, Canning, while hitting four points from play, including the opener, and a free, was well-marked by Limerick’s Richie McCarthy (someone in De La Salle should see if there’s a video), while Mooncoin’s PJ Roe was also outstanding in a solid Waterford defence.
The sides were tied at two points apiece seven minutes in, and were level a third time at the end of the first quarter. But Waterford IT soon established control and a poacher’s goal on half-time by Tipp man Timmy Hammersley put them 1-8 to 0-4 to the good.
Kilkenny’s TJ Reid and Tipperary’s Ray McLoughney were also threats throughout for the winners, though a fine Kevin Hynes’ goal gave the home side some hope 10 minutes after the restart. However, Hammersley replied in rapid-fire fashion to effectively seal the victory and WIT’s passage into the semi-finals in Dublin on Friday, March 6, where they will play UCC. Cork IT take on UL in the other semi, a day before the decider, also in the capital.

WIT: A Power; B Kenny, R McCarthy, C Cooney; J Ryan, PJ Roe (0-1), E Barrett; S Lillis (0-1, from a 65), M Dunne; F O’Leary (0-4), TJ Reid (0-2), R Good; R McLoughney (0-5f), T Hammersley (2-0), K Grehan. Subs: S Fives for Roe (56 mins), J Gahon (0-1) for Good (56 mins).

LIT: M Ryan; K O’Rourke, K Diviney, D Kennedy; E Glynn, J McEnery, G O’Mahoney; W McNamara, P O’Brien (0-1); W Hyland, K Hynes (1-0), S Mullally; B Earley, J Canning (0-5, 0-1f), S Callinan. Subs: K Ryan for Mullally (26 mins), G Lyons for Glynn (36 mins), N Quinn for McNamara (42 mins), S Tobin for Earley (42 mins).

Referee: C McAlistair (Cork).