Crystal\'s Davin Phelan lets fly. Photos: Jim O\'Sullivan

Crystal's Davin Phelan lets fly. Photos: Jim O'Sullivan

Cork City 4; Waterford Crystal 0

[View photos]

Six Waterford clubs have won the Munster Youths Cup since it was first played for in season 1925-26. Villa (1959) Crusaders (1963) Southend United (1981) Johnville (1987) Bohemians (1996) and Tramore in 2006) are the local clubs on the Munster Roll of Honour.

Waterford Crystal were hoping to join that list of winners on Sunday last but it proved to be a disappointing day for the Waterford outfit. Cork City, led superbly by the superb midfield player David Myler (son of the Wexford Senior Hurling team manager, John ) were on top all through and as a result the week did not produce a magicial double for Crystal who had won the Premier League the previous Wednesday.

Early lead

Cork City took the lead after 7 minutes. Jason Murphy got past Craig Gailbert and crossed from the right to Tim Kiely and he beat the Waterford Crystal goalkeeper Ian Daly from 15 yards with a low strike.

Ian Daly came to Crystal’s rescue on 14 minutes, diving low to stop a hard strike from David Myler who was put clear by Tim Kiely.

Liam Coady of Crystal fired in a shot from 20 yards on 20 minutes but his effort went over the crossbar. Shortly before that Shane Rochford saw a free-kick come back off the City defensive wall.

Ian Daly was then tested with a strong shot from Tim Kiely after 33 minutes.

Cork City were awarded a penalty 4 minutes later when Jason Foran took down Tim Kiely and David Myler cracked the spot kick to the roof of the net.

More goals

Cork City wrapped up the game 20 minutes into the second half. Jamie Drennan got to the right endline and when he pulled the ball back to Jason Murphy he applied the finish from close range. Tim Kiely scored his second goal of the game on 78 minutes, lashing the ball to the net from 25 yards after taking a pass from Brian Murphy.


Cork City: Kieran McEnery, Ian Turner, Brian Murphy, John Dineen, Richard O’Donovan, David Myler, Darragh O’Callaghan, Eddie Carroll, Jason Murphy, Tim Kiely, Jamie Drennan. Subs: Craig Duggan for Jason Murphy (66 mins), Donal Lynch for O’Callaghan (71 mins), Kevin Holland for Dineen (80 mins).

Waterford Crystal: Ian Daly, Kevin Gahan, Craig Gailbert, Jason Foran, Mitchel Casey, Liam Coady, Gavin Roche, Davin Phelan, Andrew Power, Shane Rochford, Dean Crowley. Subs: Adam Forsey for Crowley (81 mins), Darren Flanagan for Rochford (90 mins)

Ref: Tom Keating (Tipp).