Ken McGrath remains at full-back on the Waterford team named last night (Thursday) for Sunday’s All-Ireland hurling semi-final against Tipperary. And into the defence come Aidan Kearney, returning after an appendix operation and Kevin Moran, with Shane O’Sullivan and Brian Phelan losing out.

Kearney is listed at left corner back, with Declan Prendergast moving from that position to right half while Moran, who many believe could yet become a real star, is chosen on the opposite wing.

Jamie Nagle partners Brick Walsh at midfield and Eoin Kelly is at full-forward, with big men Dan Shanahan and Seamus Prendergast in the half-forward line along with Stephen Molumphy who, it is hoped, is on the way to regaining last year’s top form.

Whether the side lines out as named is yet to be seen, most notably Ken McGrath who may well remain in front of goal, but it will be no great surprise if he fields at centre-half with, possibly, Declan Prendergast, moving back in to man the square.

Eoin Murphy, too, might well be switched from right to left full-back to mark Tipp’s star man Eoin Kelly, on whom he has had a fair level of success in the past.

There had been speculation that Paul Flynn, reportedly very sharp in training, might be recalled but he remains on the bench, from which he will no doubt be sprung if the team is in trouble.

The team named is: C Hennessy, E Murphy, K McGrath, A Kearney, D Prendergast, T Browne, K Moran, M Walsh, J Nagle, D Shanahan, S Prendergast, S Molumphy, E McGrath, E Kelly, J Mullane. Subs: A Power, J Kennedy, P Flynn, S O’Sullivan, G Hurney, D Bennett, B Phelan, R Foley, J Murray, T Feeney, W Hutchinson, S Walsh, P Fitzgerald, D Coffey, P Kearney.