Waterford County GAA Board Secretary Seamus Grant, the longest serving in the country, steps down next week after 37 years in the post. Indeed, prior to becoming County Secretary in 1970 he had spent ten years as Eastern Board Secretary and another ten before that as Secretary of the City Juvenile Board, bringing to 57 the number of consecutive years he has devoted his abundant secretarial skills to the Association.

And after all that time and service it is not by choice he is going. When he relinquishes the position at next Friday night’s County Convention he will be doing so under a Croke Park edict restricting the length of service for all officers.

In tribute, West Waterford Board Chairman Paddy Walsh said Seamus had become a legend in his own lifetime, contributing in monumental fashion to the GAA as an administrator through the decades.

The demanding post has been a part-time one but Mr. Grant’s replacement may well be full-time in accordance with the wishes of many of the Association’s top brass in the country.

There have been seven nominations for his successor but it is understood only three will contest the position at convention. They are expected to be Tim O’Byrne of Erins Own, who is Chairman of the East Division Board, John O’Leary, Ballyduff Lower, currently the County Development Officer and Timmy O’Keeffe, former Clashmore and Waterford senior football goalie.