Tramore CBS 7; Comeragh College 1

Tramore CBS marched into the quarter finals of the Munster First Year Cup with a comprehensive victory over Comeragh College, Carrick-on-Suir in sunny conditions in Tramore. This was a team performance to behold with excellent passing and support coupled with plenty of skill, grit and determination.

From the first whistle Tramore took the game to Comeragh and were unlucky not to open the scoring in the second minute when Meshac Babatu blasted a free kick wide of the post. The opening goal arrived a minute later when Luke Furlong’s corner to the back post was played into the path of Stephen Bergin by Ryan Costello and Bergin fired home from 8 yards.

A 20 yard free kick from Babatu provided Tramore’s second goal as it flew to the top corner of the net and Tramore looked to be cruising. However, a lapse of concentration allowed Comeragh College to pull a goal back before Tramore took control of the game. The third came courtesy of Jose Barranco who picked up an excellent pass from Babatu and calmly chipped the ball over the goalkeeper.

Excellent interplay from Costello and Barranco provided the Spaniard’s second goal and Tramore’s fourth before Babatu fired a low ball to the net for number five. When Babatu was brought down the box, the referee had no option but to point to the penalty spot and Babatu secured his hat-trick when he reacted quickest to the rebound after his shot was hit straight at the Carrick keeper.

A fine team performance was completed when Stephen Crotty took the ball around three defenders before smashing home his side’s seventh from outside the box to send Tramore into a quarterfinal clash with local rivals De La Salle.

Tramore: Fionn Kenneally, Eoin Begley, Emmanuel Ogbana, Stephen Crotty, Shane Walsh, Stephen Bergin, Ryan Costello, Meshac Babatu, Sean Colfer, Jose Barranco, Luke Furlong, Jack Cullen, Matthew Power, Ross Nolan, Darragh Hayes, Gavin Wilmott.