The Waterford team to play Meath in the first round of the All-Ireland Football qualifiers at Pairc Tailteann in Navan this Saturday evening has been named and shows a number of changes to the team which played last time out against Cork in the Munster Championship.

Gary Hurney and Shane Walsh who were released from the Senior Hurling panel for the game against Cork are both out of contention for the visit to Navan. Hurney is out of contention following a recent collar-bone break while training with the senior hurlers, while Shane Walsh is recovering from a recent injury but it is believed that he may be fit enough to take his place in the hurling panel in a weeks time and could come into contention for a starting place.
Brian Phelan and Stephen Cunningham come in for the two duel players with Ger Power who was selected to play Cork also coming back into the team. The rest of the starting fifteen remains the same but there is numerous positional changes in personnel.
Tom Wall remains the team’s net minder with Shane Briggs, Thomas and Maurice O’Gorman who moves from centre back to the number four shirt forming the full back line.
Liam Lawlor, selected against Cork at corner forward, but played as an extra defender will start against the Royal County at Centre Back with Tony Grey on his left and Eddie Rockett moving from left corner back to right wing back.
Shane O’Hare continues in the centre of the field and will have Brian Phelan as his partner. The Ballinameela man comes into the team for Shane Walsh.
Brian Wall moves from wing forward to the centre to replace the injured Gary Hurney with Wayne Hennessey moving from wing back to the number ten shirt. The Ardmore club man is however likely to start as the extra defender that John Kiely favours when playing strong opposition and Liam O Lionain moves to the left half forward position.
Ger Power who missed the Cork game comes in at full forward and will have Stephen Cunningham on his left but he would be expected to move to the wing should Wayne Hennessy drop back as an extra defender and Patrick Hurney starts at number 15 and is likely to man a two man full forward line with Ger Power.
Cillian O’Keeffe, John Phelan, Justin Walsh, Conor McGrath, Michael O’Gorman and Andy Hubbard who were all subs against Cork will once again be on the bench for Waterford and will be joined by Ballinameela’s Eamon Walsh who was the best player on show in the Intermediates lost to Cork in the Championship. With just seven players named in the subs and no goal keeper amongst them, chances are that over the next twenty-four hours one or two other players may be drafted into the travelling party to Navan.
1. Tom Wall (Bunmahon)
2. Shane Briggs (Ballinacourty)
3. Tomas O’Gorman (The Nire)
4. Maurice O’Gorman – capt (The Nire )
5. Edmond Rockett (Stradbally)
6. Liam Lawlor (The Nire)
7. Tony Grey (Stradbally)
8. Sean O’Hare (Ballinacourty)
9. Brian Phelan (Ballinameela)
10. Wayne Hennessy (Ardmore)
11. Brian Wall (The Nire)
12. Liam O Lionáin (An Rinn)
13. Stephen Cunningham (Stradbally)
14. Ger Power (Stradbally)
15. Patrick Hurney (Ballinacourty)
17. Cillian O’Keeffe (Clashmore)
18. John Phelan (Ballinacourty)
19. Justin Walsh (The Nire)
20. Conor McGrath (Brickey Rangers)
21. Michael O’Gorman (The Nire)
22. Eamon Walsh (Ballinameela)
23. Andy Hubbard (Newtown)
Manager : John Kiely
Selectors: Ger Power, Tom Condon.