De La Salle 3; Waterford Crystal 0

??? View Photos

De La Salle got off to a good start in the Under 13 A league by defeating a brave Waterford Crystal last week. They created a lot of chances before they eventually broke the deadlock after 20 minutes through Jason Crowley and from then on the visitors had a mountain to climb.

It has to be said that this was Crystal’s first game in the A league after winning the Under 12C league last season and it will take them a while to adapt to the new league but as the first half wore on, they came into the tie and had a chance before the break to level the contest, but alas it was not to be.

The second half saw the home side wrap up the contest as they scored two further goals but it was a much better performance from their opponents as they battled hard, however they failed to create any chances of note.

Conor Whittle burst through the centre on 35 minutes before outpacing the visiting defence and he slipped a low right-footed effort past the helpless Declan Doyle from inside the area and it was Whittle that got number three and ensured of all three points on 47 minutes.

Again Jamie Walsh caused problems down the right and he crossed from the right and the central midfielder was in the right place at the right time to tap home from close range and certainly Crystal will have learnt from this outing.

On the other hand, credit their opponents as they played some superb football throughout the sixty minutes and they had the players in key positions to dominate and they could be contenders for the league title this season.

De La Salle: Tom Farrell, Evan Curran, Conor O’Dwyer, Ethan Hurley, Reece Galvin, Conor Whittle, Jamie Walsh, Dylan Foley, Ross Daniels, Darren Grey, Jason Crowley, Bobby Finn, Ian Coady, Joshua McIlhinney, Jack Flavin and Jamie Grant.

Scorers: Conor Whittle, 35, 47 mins; Jason Crowley, 20 mins.

Crystal: Declan Doyle, Dean Power, Thomas Lane, Ciaran Walsh, Jason English, Calum Cuddihy, Corey Kavanagh, Nathan Phelan, Ger Halloran, Daniel Ryan, Glen Sweeney, Lee Halligan, Chris Doran, Shane Elliott, Eric Crowley, Sam Quigley, Conor Malone and Dylan Roche

Referee: Brian Mooney (Southend United).