Fáilte Ireland Chairman Redmond O’Donoghue was named as the KPMG Munster Business Person of the Year on Friday last.

Mr O’Donoghue topped the pile from the 36 business leaders shortlisted for the award, the ceremony for which was held at the SAS Radisson Hotel in Little Island, Cork. 

Six other Waterford businessmen were nominated for the award, namely: Ben Gavin ((Port of Waterford Chairman), William Bolster (MD of the Bolster Group), Paul McDaid (CEO, Tower Hotel Group), Graham Doyle (CEO, Waterford Airport), Frank Dolphin (Chair, Rigney Dolphin) and Des Whelan (MD of WLRfm).

The event was hosted by TV3’s Colette Fitzpatrick and 96FM’s Neil Prendeville and was attended by over 400 guests, with Minister of State Billy Kelleher representing the Government on the evening.

“We would like to congratulate all of the award winners and in particular Redmond O’Donoghue as the overall winner of the Munster Business Person of the Year Award 2008,” said KPMG’s Colin O’Brien.   

“We are committed to supporting and recognis-ing the great contribution Munster businesses have made to the Irish economy, and these awards are an ideal opportunity to acknowledge outstanding achievement amongst business people operating in this region.”

Added ‘Business First’ publisher Michael Mulcahy: “Each of the finalists deserve this recognition as they all have helped shape our business community and will continue to shape our world as we face new and exciting challenges in 2009 and beyond.” 

Coolmore Stud Chairman John Magnier was the sole Tipperary nominee named on the award shortlist.