A new Tramore Tidy Towns Committee was loosely formed at a public meeting called for the purpose on Monday night. The meeting, in the local Civic Offices, was chaired by Mayor Raymond Hayden and attended by about forty people, including most of the Town Council.

The new committee, still open-ended with new members likely to be added, comprises: Town Clerk John O’Sullivan, Sara Good from Tramore Chamber of Commerce, Ann Cheasty of Tramore Tourism, Stella Maris School Principal Robert McCarthy, Residents Association representatives Patricia Flynn, Peggy Murray and Tracey Sauvage, as well as Hugh O’Keeffe, Catherine Nolan, Sinead McGovern and Helena Carroll.

They hold their first meeting at the same venue next Wednesday night (7pm). Anyone who couldn’t attend on Monday and is interested in contributing will be welcome.

An old committee, headed for many years by former Town Councillors Maureen O’Carroll and Betty Twomey, became extinct and it was decided at the Town Council’s February meeting that a new one was required, with a view to maintaining standards and improving them where possible.