PicA Michael Ryan has stepped down as Waterford Senior Hurling manager after serving a two year  term.
Ryan, who succeeded Davy Fitzgerald, informed the county board he would not be seeking re-  election after Waterford exited the championship.
An announcement was made by the Waterford County Board within one hour of the Waterford  minor hurlers qualifying for this years All-Ireland final on Sunday.
Speaking on Waterford Local Radio on Sunday evening, County Board Chairman Tom  Cunningham said he learned of the decision of the Fourmilewater man not to seek an extension to  his tenure into 2014 on Sunday afternoon in a text message during the minor game.
Ryan took charge in October 2011 and lead Waterford to a third successive Munster final  appearance in his first year at the helm where they lost to Tipperary and bowed out of the All- Ireland series at the quarter final stages, losing out to Cork.
This year Waterford were defeated by Clare in the first round of the Munster Championship.
They regrouped however and recorded wins over Offaly and Wexford in the All-Ireland qualifiers before bowing out of the championship in the third round of the qualifiers after an extra-time defeat to Kilkenny.
The Fourmilewater man did not get off to the best start in his stint in charge as Waterford were defeated in their first three league games against Cork, Kilkenny and Tipperary.
Selectors Brother Philip Ryan and Nicky Cashin resigned and were replaced by former Waterford greats Ken McGrath and Séan Cullinane.
Under the new management team Waterford regrouped and recorded wins over Galway and Dublin, narrowly missing out on a place in the knockout stages of the league.
Ken McGrath resigned as a selector after the championship and was replaced by Ray Moran.