Fine Gael’s Maurice Cummins has been returned to Seanad Éireann, where he will be joined by David Cullinane, who became only the third ever Sinn Féin member to win election to the Upper House.
Their strong showing in the Labour panel ensures that Waterford will again be represented by two Senators as was the case in the previous Seanad which featured Senator Cummins and recently elected TD Paudie Coffey.
Speculation is rife that Senator Cummins, one of Enda Kenny’s longest standing political supporters, will retain his position as Leader of the House, a role he briefly occupied in the closing weeks of the outgoing Seanad.