Gavin Breen (Abbeyside) and Chris OGorman (Lismore) giving it their all.

Gavin Breen (Abbeyside) and Chris OGorman (Lismore) giving it their all.

Lismore 2-15 Abbeyside 1-16

■□■ View More Photos 

Abbeyside’s quest to win a first ever county senior hurling championship must go on for one more year following their elimination from this year’s competition at the hands of Lismore in Sunday’s quarter-final at Fraher Field on Saturday last.

Over the course of the hour there could be no arguing that the better team emerged victorious and Lismore will now begin to fancy their chances of winning a first county senior hurling title since 1993.

The winners got off to a flying start, scoring three points inside the opening five minutes. Pádraig Prendergast registered the first score of the afternoon when he pointed with just two minutes on the clock. Maurice Shanahan quickly responded with two points from frees in the third and fifth minutes before Mark Gorman scored Abbeyside’s first score, a pointed free sixty seconds later.

Maurice Shanahan got his third point of the afternoon eight minutes into the game just before the score of the match – a point from play inside his own half of the field scored by corner-back Eoin Bennett.

See The Munster Express newspaper for full story and photos.